h1

Short film – Story development

January 25, 2010

I have started digging deep in this subject, about two months ago. I’m trying to write some interesting scripts developping some ideas I had not too long ago. I did found it’s quite difficult, especially when you drift away from the humour side (which I love anyway and would never leave aside!) – things can be quite tough to put together, even though in the initial stages, you feel like the idea is brilliant and the first draft you wrote is the masterpiece.

Not true 🙂

but it’s a great time learning about it. I suppose sooner or later I would have done it anyway. I really like making short films and this is something I need to learn properly. Too many times I think one could say: oh well I’ll just do some funny gags, some nice characters and there you go, I’ve got a short film. Indeed, but no story, probably.

I really want to know more about story and how you craft it. And so far, what I’m learning couldn’t be more fun and addictive. It’s almost as much fun as when I started learning about animation.

I will keep this section dedicated to various bits and pieces that I find out and like to talk about regarding Story and how it should be done properly.

Leave a comment